(Updated March 2018)

  【Official Name】Republic of Mauritius

  【Area】2,040 km²

  【Population】1.2629 million (December 2017). Approximately 69% of its population are of Indian and Pakistani origin, 27% are Creole, and 2.3% of Chinese and 1.7% of European descent. English is the official language, French is also commonly used, and Creole is most widely spoken. Approximately 52% of its residents are Hindus, 30% Christians, 17% Muslims, and a small group are Buddhists.

  【Capital】Port Louis with an estimated population of 120,000. The warmest season is in January (23 to 30℃), and the average temperature in the warm season is 27℃. The cool season is from June to August (17 to 24℃), with an average temperature of 18℃.

  【Head of State】Vice President Paramasivum Pillay Vyapoory has taken up office as the acting President since March 2018.

  【Holiday】Independence Day (12 March)

  【Geography and Climate】Mauritius is an island country in the southwestern Indian Ocean located off the eastern coast of Africa. Mauritius lies 800 km to the east of Madagascar, 1,800 km off the port of Mombasa, Kenya, and 160 km to the north of Reunion, and 4,827 km to the west of Australia. The coastline of Mauritius is approximately 250 km long. It has a maritime sub-tropical climate, and is warm and humid all the year round, with temperatures averaging 25℃ in coastal regions and 20℃ on the central plateau. It was subsequently occupied by the Dutch, French and English colonists. The country declared independence on March 12, 1968.

Copyright © 2004, Secretariat of the Chinese Follow-up Committee of the Forum on China-Africa Cooperation
Contact us Address: No. 2, Chaoyangmen Nandajie, Chaoyang District, Beijing, 100701 Tel: 86-10-65962810,86-10-65962827