(Updated February 2018)

  【Official Name】Republic of Niger

  【Area】1.267 million km²

  【Population】21.5 million (2017). Five major ethnic groups live in Niger. They are the Hausa (56% of the total population), the Zarma-Sonrai (22%), the Peul (8.5%), the Tuareg (8%) and the Kanuri (4%). The official language in Nigel is French while each ethnic group speaks its native language. The Hausa can be commonly used around the country. Approximately 88% of inhabitants practice Islam, 11.7% indigenous religions and the remainder are Christians.

  【Capital】Niamey, with a population of 1.06 million (2016). The annual average temperature is 28.9℃, with the highest of 41℃ and the lowest of 14 ℃.

  【Head of State】President Mahamadou Issoufou (elected in March 2011 and reelected in March 2016)

  【Holidays】Independence Day (3August); Republic Day (18December)

  【Geography and Climate】Niger is locatedin the southern Sahara Desert (11~23°N,0~16°E). Niger is a landlocked country in West Africa, bordered by Chad to the east, Mali and Burkina Faso to the west, Benin and Nigeria to the south, and Algeria and Libya to the north. The northern Nigerhas tropical desert climate while the southern parts have tropical savanna climate. The country has dry and wet seasons and is one of the hottest countries in the world with the annual average temperature at 30℃.

Copyright © 2004, Secretariat of the Chinese Follow-up Committee of the Forum on China-Africa Cooperation
Contact us Address: No. 2, Chaoyangmen Nandajie, Chaoyang District, Beijing, 100701 Tel: 86-10-65962810,86-10-65962827