(Updated February 2018)

  【Official Name】The Republic of Senegal

  【Area】 196,722 km2

  【Population】15.726 million (2018). Senegal has more than 20 ethnic groups. The Wolof are the largest ethnic group (43%), followed by the Peul (24%) and the Serer (15%). The official language is French. Wolof is spoken by 80% of the population. 95.4% of the population adhere to Islam, 4.2% of the residents believe in Catholicism and the rest believe in fetishism.

  【Capital】Dakar has a population of about 3.63 million (in 2016). The temperature is the highest from September to October (24 to 32℃) and the lowest in January (18 to 26℃).

  【Head of State】President Macky Sall (since 2012)

  【Holidays】Independence Day (4 April)

  【Geography and Climate】Located in the westernmost part of west Africa, Senegal is bordered by Mauritania to the north, Mali to the east, Guinea and Guinea-Bissau to the south, and the Atlantic Ocean to the west with a coastline of about 500 kilometers. The country has a tropical savanna climate, with an average annual temperature of 29℃. The highest temperature reaches 45℃. The dry season is from November to June, and rainy season from July to October.

Copyright © 2004, Secretariat of the Chinese Follow-up Committee of the Forum on China-Africa Cooperation
Contact us Address: No. 2, Chaoyangmen Nandajie, Chaoyang District, Beijing, 100701 Tel: 86-10-65962810,86-10-65962827