Central African Republic

  (Updated February 2018)

  【Official Name】Central African Republic

  【Area】623,000 k㎡

  【Population】5 million (2016). There are a total of over 60 ethnic groups, including Baya, Banda, Bantu, Sango, etc, among which the Baya has the largest population and Banda is most widely distributed. The official languages are French and Sango. 50% of the population believe Christianity, about 15% in Islamism, and others indigenous religions.

  【Capital】Bangui with a population of 747,000 (2013). The hottest season is February with temperature of 21 to 34℃. The coolest season is July to August with temperature of 21to 29℃.

  【Head of State】President Faustin Archange Touadéra was elected in February 2016 and took office on March 30.

  【Holiday】Independence Day (August 13); National Day (December 1)

  【Geography and Climate】As a landlocked country located in the center of the African continent,the Central African Republic is bordered by Sudan to the east, the Republic of the Congo and Democratic Republic of the Congoand to the south,Cameroon to the west and Chad to the north. The north is tropical savanna climate and south is tropical rainforest climate, with annual average temperatureof 26℃. From May to October, it is rainy season. From November to April next year, it is dry season.

Copyright © 2004, Secretariat of the Chinese Follow-up Committee of the Forum on China-Africa Cooperation
Contact us Address: No. 2, Chaoyangmen Nandajie, Chaoyang District, Beijing, 100701 Tel: 86-10-65962810,86-10-65962827